HomeТранспортRelated VideosMore From: carwow

Hyundai i30 N 2018 hot hatch review – you'll be surprised how good it is | Mat Watson Reviews

11170 ratings | 1209809 views
A Hyundai hot hatch? Yes, you heard me right. Hyundai's finally thrown its hat into the performance car ring with the new i30 N – the first in a range of N-branded products from the Korean manufacturer. I jump behind the wheel to give you my verdict on this new VW Golf GTI and Honda Civic Type R rival. Subscribe to carwow on youtube – http://www.youtube.com/c/Carwow?sub_confirmation=1 Awkward haggling is a thing of the past with carwow. Choose your perfect car with our configurator tool and let the country’s best dealers compete over you. Compare the five best offers by price, location and dealer ratings and choose the one that’s right for you – no hassle, no haggling, just a great deal. Visit our site to save money on your new car – https://www.carwow.co.uk/
Category: Транспорт
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1634)
letsseeif (2 days ago)
Badge snobs are invariably inadequate 'wankers' compensating for issues such as their small chaps' thingees and/or too much money, or both, and too much spare time. They won't 'get over it' because of factors better left to a psychologist or psychiatrist. However, I still think one should attempt to get over it. It's called 'self help'. The Koreans are here to stay and probably dominate which lobs the snobs of Britannia with a crisis of conscience in that contrary to what the tester chapee in the video says, the car cannot be superior to the sum of its parts. It's a fact that anyone who's done Newtonian Physics will acknowledge this fact in a heartbeat. As for the i30N, it 'ticks all the boxes' and Hy/Kia is clearly on a superior trajectory to Euro cars. I don't expect said 'tester on video' to agree as his job is drum up business and sell cars, and sales of Euro cars pay better, as well as the racial thing, that the sons of Nippon disproved long ago, that Asian cars trump Euros every time where it counts. By the way I'm Anglo Saxon, so no axe to grind there. ps. Does anyone actually design, make and sell British Designed cars in the UK & overseas, any more, and why or why not?
Charisma (2 days ago)
People saying how unreliable Hyundai's are... I own a 2005 Hyundai Sonata Elite 3.3L V6 and has never given me troubles. The car runs like a dream and has plenty of power. The interior has faired well against the test of time and my only real complaint is the leather which is now finally showing age after 13yrs...
Bedirhan SAVAS (2 days ago)
matt we love you buddy
sal e (4 days ago)
I like this Audi I30N, oh wait.......
Spiros Mousouris (6 days ago)
I like Toyota and Honda better, but oh my God, this is amazing. Really impressive. Serious potential here. Hyundai is hungry, much like Honda used to be. If Hyundai is smart and keeps pushing, it will get better, forcing big boys to get better and offer better cars.
Salt Bae (8 days ago)
N stands for Neuville ?
Neuralizer (12 days ago)
looks like the Mazda 2
Joseph Briffa (15 days ago)
'added stiffness is a good thing, and its the same with performance cars'... Mat you sly bastard
Rafayel K (16 days ago)
I really like these cars but why the front wheel drive!! It's so much more fun to drive RWD, even in the winter as long as it has LSD or similar on it. Such a shame...
Alan Briggs (19 days ago)
Their warranty isn't worth having. If you get a duff car, like I did, you are on your own.
sirano (20 days ago)
its smart the made the skirts with plastic i mean if it was carbon fiber changing them will be stupidly expensive
Ricky Morty (21 days ago)
No flat bottom???
BILKOWSKY (24 days ago)
Hyundai i30N better and cheaper hothatch than VW Golf GTI, true true
mykrrrr (25 days ago)
I wish the i30N was sold here in the states. I'd rather get the i30N over the Veloster N.
wiseguy (1 month ago)
Don't be fooled & mislead by this product, own one & getting rid of it asap!
wiseguy (1 month ago)
VW is Quality anyday !!! Hyundai parts dont last long.. have 2 keep replacing
projectill (1 month ago)
I have recently tested i30N and VW Golf GTI and I would definitely choose i30N. GTI felt like normal Golf with red details in interior and a bit stronger engine while i30N feels more like sports car. The handling, shiftlights, steering, clutch, seats, sound....Hyundai wins in all of this. Golf still wins in everyday practicality, street rep and build quality.
SUSANTA GUIN (1 month ago)
Hyundai always make Good Car.
FeelsBadMan (1 month ago)
this or GTI Clubsport?
potatocubes 30875 (1 month ago)
looks like an audi up front
Matthias Rambally (1 month ago)
1:10
Dom (1 month ago)
Hyundai: destroy yourself!
BILKOWSKY (1 month ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCBrTTQ9U9Y&t=613s
Bruno G. Lopes (1 month ago)
The way he says Hyundai though
ferhattje (1 month ago)
This one or the new kia ceed.
Vangelis Chaloutsos (1 month ago)
Cheap plastics Manual handbrake No automatic transmission 😂
nigel bell (1 month ago)
Everything ... except an automatic/ DSG... version
Roger Graham (1 month ago)
Extra stiffness is a good thing.....even in performance cars. LMAO
Kim No Dong (1 month ago)
Hyundai = poor man's Honda knock off
Garry Owen (1 month ago)
No longer available in the UK.
Mr G (1 month ago)
Wish we were getting this in the states :(.. im in the minority when it comes to hatchback love out here.
sspiegel v (2 months ago)
I love your reviews, Mat! Cheers from Mexico
SCrawford (2 months ago)
6.1 seconds 0-60 only? A 2009 Toyota Rav 4 is 6.4 seconds
Alex Lopez (2 months ago)
So incredibly disappointed that we're not getting this in the US. Yes, I know we get the Veloster N... BUT who the actual fuck likes those dumbass doors? No thanks Korea. We want a proper 5 door hatchback. Get your heads out of your asses.
AstroGaming (2 months ago)
Shame we won’t be able to afford it after wltp
Collins Jiang (2 months ago)
枪文
frannyyes (2 months ago)
Why couldn’t it be dual clutch😭😭
sirkastic (2 months ago)
A _Little_ Bit embarrassing? ...
Donald DWoww (2 months ago)
I like the design hey
XCD01X (2 months ago)
6.6 0-60?...my 09 forester is faster than that
Monkiimagic (2 months ago)
Hyundai's warranty covers track days, that alone should make this car a serious consideration if you are looking at getting a hot hatch.
Emma Owens (2 months ago)
Still could be cheaper
Gustav Chuene (2 months ago)
It's an absolute stunner and it kicks the Golf GTi's ass big time. About bloody time and it's cheaper 😍😍
Mike K (2 months ago)
For once I’d like to see a white guy pronounce Hyundai correctly. It’s no that hard. Say Sunday with a H instead of the S — Hunday.
Crazy Legz (2 months ago)
Nice look
André Gonçalves (2 months ago)
I think this is better than a GTI or at least as good and cheaper. Of course the built quality is superior on Volkswagen side but besides that Hyundai takes the edge
Jaycub (2 months ago)
ha-ee-yoon-die
Ian Townsend (3 months ago)
I was at a set of traffic lights asked a guy to rev it, it sounds proper loud then he went off like stabbed rat
SolidSnake19904 (3 months ago)
Audi 1.8 tfsi quattro 180 Hp makes 0-60 in 6.7 Sec. For 275 a 6.6 is pretty weak allthough a good Car
Jake Lamotta (3 months ago)
Mat ur the man but im js if u changed before 6500 it mightve been a bit faster cos im sure the power dies round about 6000.
Jake Lamotta (3 months ago)
Is this even resonated?? I mean wow it sounds great!!
LMFAO (3 months ago)
Looks beautiful.
Tetea Khiangte Buanga (3 months ago)
Car wow please review ford freestyle petrol??
vincentlee3434 (3 months ago)
Very bad experience with Hyundai in the past...........not really to give it a chance!!
Donovan Gray (3 months ago)
I like it ☺
DJ Alex Parker (3 months ago)
Looks like they spent most of their money on exterior design and power, but left out the interior, looks cheap
b j (3 months ago)
1:45😂😂😂
김동섭 (3 months ago)
In fact, the pronunciation of the hyundaI brand in Korea is hyundae.
Stuart Campbell (4 months ago)
Hyundai needs to do better than that to turn heads...Still nice but I would rather spend my money on something else in that price range
How much is this car worth?
anh le (4 months ago)
Amazing small crossover - Hyundai Kona 2018 - what car :v 🌺 💘 💞 https://youtu.be/MBKl8OeWM74
EKTube12 (4 months ago)
hoyondie
שמעון שמעון (4 months ago)
Put fast dual clutch 7 speed gearbox it will accelerate better And will be more easy to control
Per Feet (1 month ago)
And much more boring to drive....
Henrik Koukku (4 months ago)
That is true!. 🤔
Mr.Mister (4 months ago)
Looks nice, looks like a golf. I don't think I would buy one new but maybe 2nd hand, in a few years, when the arse falls out of the price of them and we have a few years to see how reliable they are.
MUR47_k (4 months ago)
if the i30n had 300bhp id definitely buy it cause like Matt said its a complete article but just a little short on the power side tbh.
M Ean (4 months ago)
From copying audi to Benze
A M (4 months ago)
Reminds me a bit of the ep3 type r Subtle yet sporty styling with clever engineering to make a superb and fun drive Better styling than the overstated new type r in my opinion especially for a daily although the type r styling is functional and it is more of a focused performance weapon.
Wilson Law (4 months ago)
The previous gen type r, which didnt even had a turbo and was considered the worst type r made, could already do 0-60 in 6.1secs (specs). I wonder how much faster a turbo would make the type r go then.
flex seals (4 months ago)
Your videos are to contrasty
Cj C (4 months ago)
Starts at 40000 euro here in Ireland. Fuck this country and its stupid vrt tax system
Cj C (4 months ago)
Sounds awesome
BM7467BM (4 months ago)
You like it so much Mat !!! Come on !!! , VW wont make you pay lol
hamzah ballim (5 months ago)
can u get it in auto and how good is the auto
hamzah ballim (4 months ago)
Steve Lane thanks for the reply - this is going to help to choose what car to get
Steve Lane (4 months ago)
hamzah ballim hi there. If you still need an answer - the auto is scheduled for end of 2019.
Shrapnel (5 months ago)
I can see the Kia Ceed GT getting similar performance based on this. Or in fact you might say it pretty much is already on the same platform.
Amirichi (5 months ago)
I Just bought this car today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO HAPPY WITH IT!
Sasi Kumar (5 months ago)
Super
Kenneth Dike (5 months ago)
I love fwd manual hot hatches but I feel like i30N would be monstrous if it had AWD and a dual clutch gearbox. I feel like this would be a worthy rival to the likes of the golf r and Audi s3.
Andy Fisher (5 months ago)
0-60 in 6.6s?? With 275hp?? My 5 year old Fabia vRS with 95hp less does that, was expecting around a dead 6 at least :/
Dashcam Karaoke (5 months ago)
The type r needs to have the ability to just pick and choose how you want the car to be
Cyka Blyat (5 months ago)
Still wouldn't buy one
Dawaleeb Alhawa (5 months ago)
0-60 in 6.6 secs, I thought wow until I realised, it is in Kilometers. am i correct?
interceptor (5 months ago)
I think it looks pretty good. 👍
HappyFace Gamer (5 months ago)
Bruh that looks so fun..... And the turbo sounds are just awesome and to die for...!! Awesome job by hyundai...... I WANT ONE!!!!! 😖
Michael (5 months ago)
Fcuking BRILLIANT review You made me want one over a golf GTi. Well done Hyundai and well done you 👍🏻
happy2be (5 months ago)
Did I hear that correctly? £28k????for a Hyundai??? Noooo no no.... £10k too much. Golf R £3k more... I know where my money would go
Phat Dat (5 months ago)
Dam sounds sick as bro
AA K (5 months ago)
If you would review all the cars on a bad street like that to show us how is the suspension that would be really great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
informedcarpet (5 months ago)
Meh
mm k (5 months ago)
아마 i30n이 레이싱 대회에서 우승을 많이해서 벨로스터n 보다 주목을 더 받는듯. 그러나 벨로스터n이 무게중심이 좀더 낮고 좀더 단단하다고 한다. 현직 레이서가 극찬한 차종이니까 실망은 안할것 같다.
Brandon Kalaw (5 months ago)
which one will you choose? Hyundai i30N or Ford Focus RS?
Carmelo Santini (5 months ago)
Wooo, this looks like a great car.... and then the first comment I see is that it's not available in the US...... ugh. The hot hatch market sucks in the US... you either have to buy a BMW, Benz, Audi, or VW RS.... I wish I wasn't so offended by the sith styling of the Honda Civic. The Toyota iM would be a great choice if it was a better car (or if I found a cheap used one). I like how they allow you to remove the brace in this... I have a 350z and need more space, the brace in that keeps me from keeping the car.
Kim No Dong (5 months ago)
Lol.... can't afford anything better than a Hyundai engine recalls????? Take the bus, or get a better job.
Charlie Football (5 months ago)
This Is The King Of The Hatch :) El Chapo Jr 😎 Price - Power - Practicality :D Nothing can really compete with it. Polo GTI/Golf GTI yeah, but they don't look & sound as good as this i30N
shocotaros 1994 (5 months ago)
Looks like Mazda Demio
Sašo Praznik (5 months ago)
This car is a joke.
JasonB (5 months ago)
There are still tigers in Asia. Kia and Hyundai before 5 years? No way. Now? The best looking and equipped cars for reasonable money compared to competition. GG
Caleb Montgomery (5 months ago)
Id rather spend the money on an evo or a benz ,Hyundai is shit ,its only a matter of time before these things start falling apart.Its all just another market hype that will soon die
Kamerin Ambridge (5 months ago)
I seen this car the other week actually, it is literally so sick and oh my god it sounds beautiful
Zain_S63 (5 months ago)
Doesn't the new A class slylyyyy look like this car
Adrian Fellner (5 months ago)
Offenbach 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.